You are hereCommissionership: EDHA clears 7 nominees... extends council’s tenure

Commissionership: EDHA clears 7 nominees... extends council’s tenure

By Evelyn - Posted on 02 June 2011

House Assembly.jpg

Edo State House of Assembly has confirmed the appointment of seven of the eight nominees whose names were forwarded by Comrade Adams Oshiomhole to parliament for confirmation as commissioners in the state.

The 8th nominee; Hon. Gabriel Oiboh who was discovered to come from the same local government area with the transition committee chairman of Esan Central Local Government Council was dropped.

Hon. Phillip Shuaibu while disclosing the outcome of the verification exercise conducted by the House Standing Committee on Rules and Business, said the nominees satisfied every laid down procedures of the committee ranging from having the appropriate qualifications to perfecting their tax clearance with government.

He said that the committee in presenting its report to parliament came up with two-point findings that Hon. Gabriel Oiboh be dropped as nominee for commissioner in the state and that the seven other nominees are eligible for the position of commissioners in the state.

He added that with the one-point recommendation of its committee, the nominees have been confirmed fit and proper to serve as commissioners in the state.

The Speaker, Rt. Hon. Bright Omokhodion while commending the effort of members of the House Standing Committee in executing the task of screening the nominees within a short notice, directed that the seven nominees who are Barr. Ekpenisi Omorotionmwan, Mrs. Inumidu Idehen, Mr. Peter Ikem, Chief Lucky James, Mr. Donald Osikhena Boih, Miss Anena Jemitola and Mr. Chris Ebare be invited into the hallowed chambers for an interactive session with the lawmakers.

Rt. Hon. Bright Omokhodion having announced the approval of parliament in confirming the appointment of the seven nominees, mandated the Clerk of the House to forward clean copies of resolution to the State Governor, Comrade Adams Oshiomhole in preparatory for their swearing-in.

In the same vein, the three chairmen whose names were forwarded to Parliament for the confirmation of their appointment as Transition Committee Chairmen have been cleared by the Edo State House of Assembly.

Hon. Paul Ohonbamu moving a motion which was seconded by Hon. Johnson Oghuma, asserted that the three candidates have been confirmed fit and proper to pilot the affairs of the respective councils and urged Parliament to approve their appointment.

Rt. Hon. Bright Omokhodion announced the confirment of the appointment of Mr. Sylvannus Igbogbo (Igueben), Barr. Marcus Shaka Momodu (Esan Central) and Hon. Anslem Agbabi (Akoko Edo) as transition chairmen in their respective council areas with a charge on them to use their positions of office in impacting on the lives of their people.

Meanwhile, the House has approved the elongation of the tenure of transition committees across the 18 local government councils of the state pending the conduct of elections into councils by EDSIEC.

The approval which was given on the floor of parliament was sequel to the request by the Edo State Governor, Comrade Adams Oshiomhole pending the preparedness of EDSIEC to conduct elections based on the clear voters register at its disposal.

Reacting to the content of the governor’s letter, Hon. Phillip Shuaibu maintained that in order to forestall a situation that would warrant extension of the tenure of the transition committee every three months, parliament had to take advantage of the provision of the local government Constitution Act and extend the tenure of the transition committee indefinitely pending the conduct of elections by EDSIEC.

Hon. Paul Ohonbamu in moving a motion that was seconded by Hon. Peter Aliu, affirmed that parliament had resolved to grant the request for extension pending when EDSIEC is prepared to conduct elections into council.

Hon. Aliu in seconding the motion, however, warned that parliament will not tolerate any act of incompetence and non-performance on the part of the chairmen, adding that parliament will not fail to recall any non-performing chairman from his council for act of ineptitude.

On his part, the Speaker cautioned all the chairmen of the transition committees in the state to live up to their statutory responsibility of performing at their respective councils.

He added that parliament at all times maintains zero tolerance to any act of ineptitude on the part of the chairmen.


No votes yet